Surf-Hotspot Algarve

Surfen_BellevueNo1

If surfing is mentioned in these latitudes, it is mostly waves, less windsurfing. Waving is the best known type of surfing. This sport comes from Hawaii, and was only discovered in the 1950s by the American. Since then conquered this sport the beaches of the world.
Surfing includes a surfboard, possibly a neoprene suit for cooler times, some wax (increases the stability on the board) and a leash (an approximately 2 meter string with which the surfboard is secured to the leg). The ride on the waves is just great fun! The choice of surf spots (also for beginners !!) is great, the most famous are Arrifana, Amado, Cordoama and of course Sagres! Waves are always somewhere. Surfing schools and equipment are mainly on the west coast at every corner.

For beginners

Everyone can learn how to swim and feel physically capable of it. Beginners should definitely use the help of a teacher. The handling of the waves has to be learned – otherwise it is no fun! In the surfing school there is also a surfing equipment, so that for the beginning nothing has to be done. A teacher also helps with the selection of the right board, he knows the perfect beach, explains the technique, the rules and is careful that nothing happens to his or her pupils.

Algarve Surfspot

The main towns for surfers and surf schools are Sagres and Lagos. Many of the coveted surfspots are located on the west coast of the Algarve at Odeceixe, Aljezur, Carrapateira and around Sagres. On the Felsalgarve are the spots at Salema and around Lagos. Especially in Sagres, there are many surf shops and bars where the “scene” meets. The surfing schools always know best where to find the best waves.

To learn more about surfing in the Algarve, check out Julian’s blog: The Surfnomade!

Popular surf beaches

  • South coast: ideal for beginners because the waves are normally smaller than on the west coast. Sometimes the sea is also too smooth. The further east, the less waves are found.
  • Praia da Ingrina
  • Praia do Zavial
  • Praia da Salema
  • Praia da Luz
  • Meia Praia
  • Sagres: THE surfing paradise of the Algarve! Some of the best Algarve surf spots are located around the Cape “Cabo de São Vicente”. Surfshop at Surfshop is located in town.
  • Lagos: there are surf schools and surfing even in the pedestrian zone of the historic old town. There are very different surf spots around Lagos, as there is something for everyone.
  • West coast: Praia do Amado, da Arrifana, da Amoreira, Monte Clérigo

Back to the overview

Surf-Hotspot Algarve

Surfen_BellevueNo1

Wenn in diesen Breiten vom Surfen die Rede ist, handelt es sich zumeist um Wellenreiten., weniger um Windsurfen. Wellenreiten ist die bekannteste Art des Surfens. Diese Sportart stammt aus Hawaii, und wurde erst in den 1950er Jahren von den US-Amerikanern entdeckt. Seitdem erobert diese Sportart die Strände der Welt.
Zum Surfen gehören ein Surfbrett (Board), eventuell ein Neoprenanzug für kühlere Zeiten, etwas Wachs (erhöht die Standfestigkeit auf dem Brett) und eine Leash (eine etwa 2 Meter lange Schnur mit der das Surfbrett am Bein gesichert wird). Der Ritt auf den Wellen macht einfach einen riesigen Spaß! Die Auswahl an Surfspots (auch für Anfänger!!) ist groß, am bekanntesten sind Arrifana, Amado, Cordoama und natürlich Sagres! Wellen gibt es immer irgendwo. Surfschulen und Equipment gibt es vor allem an der Westküste an jeder Ecke.

Für Anfänger

Wellenreiten kann jeder lernen, der schwimmen kann und sich körperlich dazu in der Lage fühlt. Anfänger sollten unbedingt die Hilfe eines Lehrers in Anspruch nehmen. Der Umgang mit den Wellen muss gelernt werden – sonst macht es keinen Spaß! In der Surfschule gibt es außerdem eine Surfausrüstung, so dass für den Anfang nichts angeschafft werden muss. Ein Lehrer hilft außerdem bei der Auswahl des richtigen Boards, er kennt den perfekten Strand, erklärt die Technik, die Regeln und passt auf, dass seinen Schülern nichts passiert.

Algarve Surfspot

Die Hauptorte für Surfer und Surfschulen sind Sagres und Lagos. Viele der begehrten Surfspots liegen an der Westküste der Algarve bei Odeceixe, Aljezur, Carrapateira und rund um Sagres. An der Felsalgarve liegen die Spots bei Salema und rund um Lagos. Vor allem in Sagres gibt es viele Surfshops und Bars, in denen sich die „Szene“ trifft. Die Surfschulen wissen natürlich immer am besten, wo gerade die besten Wellen zu finden.

Noch mehr über´s Surfen in der Algarve erfährst du im Blog von Julian: Der Surfnomade!

Beliebte Surfstrände

  • Südküste: ideal für Anfänger, weil die Wellen normalerweise kleiner sind als an der Westküste. Manchmal ist das Meer aber auch zu glatt. Je weiter gen Osten, je weniger Wellen finden sich.
  • Praia da Ingrina
  • Praia do Zavial
  • Praia da Salema
  • Praia da Luz
  • Meia Praia
  • Sagres: DAS Surf-Paradies der Algarve! Einige der besten Algarve-Surfspots befinden sich rund um das Kap “Cabo de São Vicente“. Im Ort reiht sich Surfschule an Surfshop.
  • Lagos: hier gibt es Surfschulen und Surfshops sogar in der Fußgängerzone der historischen Altstadt. Rund um Lagos gibt es sehr verschiedene Surfspots, da ist für jeden der richtige dabei.
  • Westküste: Praia do Amado, da Arrifana, da Amoreira, Monte Clérigo

Zurück zur Übersicht Ausflugsziele